The Festival

Panel of Judges


João Meirinhos

Filmmaker of the "Cinema du Desert" – showing films to people in some of the remotest villages in the world. After completing a Masters degree in Visual Anthropology at Manchester University, he is now making documentaries.


Rosana Urbes

Animator, director of the award winning short animation film: "Guida". She worked at Disney Studios for 6 years and, back in Brazil, she created "RR Animação de Filmes".


Diego Akel

Award-winning Brazilian animated filmmaker, he is a trainer, curator, producer and coordinator of films in several countries.


Carlos Lascano

Multi-talented artist. His film, "The Scarecrow", won more than 20 global awards and qualified for the 2005 Oscars.


André da Loba

Illustrator, animator, graphic designer, sculptor and educator, resident in Brooklyn, where he works and tries to change the world.


Ruturaj Arolkar

Animator. He has won awards for his work in publicity and is co-founder of the Ittina Animation Studio. He also founded the Goa Animation and Art School.


Luis da Matta Almeida

Animator and founder of Animanostra; Zeppelin Films and Sparkline, among other companies. He has been involved with dozens of films and has won international awards. He is a permanent member of the Board of Directors of "Cartoon".


Ricardo Arce

Animator and researcher. Coordinator of Animation at the Universidade Jorge Tadeo Lozano, in Bogota. Vice-President of special projects at ASIFA International.


Ulisses Dias da Silva

Director of the BANG AWARDS. He brings his experience as an actor and film producer and of musical events to the management of "SLINGSHOT - Design e Produções Multimédia, Lda." and "NAU Identidade - Comunicação e Promoção Turística, Lda.".


Ana Umbelino

Municipal Councillor for Torres Vedras. Her first degree is in Psychology and her Masters in Educational Science. She has also studied on a History of Education doctorate programme.